Help

I want to keep this short, but it’s something I’ve been thinking about for awhile now.

I should preface this by saying that I’m really addressing Christians here, so I’ll be coming from that perspective. And I’m nervous to write about this subject, but like I said, I feel like it’s time.

Here goes: Christians, if we are going to be anti-abortion, we need to consider the fact that we then have a responsibility to be really and truly pro-life.

This means advocating for and supporting programs and resources that will help to provide medical care and support for women who find themselves in the position of having to make such a decision.

It is unconscionable to say to the terrified sixteen year old who has no idea what to do: “Hey, don’t have an abortion!” if you are unwilling to lift a finger to help her.

A teacher at my school once had a baby shower for a courageous student who decided to keep her child. This teacher was criticized by some parents for her generous behavior.

This teacher was exhibiting the generous spirit of Christ, plain and simple.

Let’s do the same.

Give $5 or $10 a month even to an organization of your choice. Pocket change to save a life and help support a new mom. Places like this: http://www.portlandprc.org/home

Also consider helping to fund grants to families who would like to adopt: http://www.lifesongfororphans.org/adoption-funding/

That’s pretty much all I had to say. I implore you to think about it.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Help

  1. Feminists for Life does a lot of great work, too – they lobby for things like colleges offering daycare, so single moms can continue their education. Being a single parent is hard enough at my age, I cannot imagine doing it without any support or resources, which is what many people are facing when they are considering an abortion.

  2. So true, Heather! I’ll have to check that organization out, thanks for letting me know about it.

  3. And, when we want to close places that offer abortions we must offer the other services those facilities provide. We have a Christian pregnancy center here that does great work, but won’t offer contraception. Where are girls going to go for that? To places that also offer abortions. These girls then learn to trust those facilities. We have to stop expecting the “world” to act like us and start meeting their needs where they are.

Leave a Reply

