The Law. Also, stew.

I slept in way too late today – one of the hazards of being between jobs. But overall the last few days have been really productive, so I wasn’t going to begrudge my body the chance to finally catch up on some much needed sleep.

So I’m going to write a little bit, and then have leftover stew for breakfast (if breakfast it can still be called – it’s 11:49, that counts, right?).

I’m getting towards the end of Leviticus, and what I’m finding is that yes, there are some things I don’t understand, but there’s a lot that I do. And there are some real gems from that book that we never quote. So I’m going to…and some of it sounds a lot like Jesus. Which makes sense, since he said he came not to get rid of the Law, but to fulfill it. I’m still working on what that means, but I think in its most literal sense it means that to know the person of Jesus Christ and to be in relationship with him is to keep the Law. I think. Like I said, my thoughts on this are all a work in progress…and likely will be for the rest of my life.

Anyway, here are a few verses that I really liked from Chapter 19:

19:32 “Rise in the presence of the aged, show respect for the elderly and revere your God. I am the Lord.”

(Side note: I’m finding that every once in awhile, a verse will end with “I am the Lord” or some other statement that’s close to it. Is this to punctuate something really important? If so, this verse just became twice as cool.)

19:18 “Do not seek revenge or bear a grudge against one of your people, but love your neighbor as yourself. I am the Lord.” (There’s that tag again…)

19:16 “Do not go about spreading slander among your people.”

19:17 “Do not curse the deaf or put a stumbling block in front of the blind, but fear your God. I am the Lord.” (Again, this is about respect and not taking advantage of people.)

And this one I found really interesting:

19:15 “Do not pervert justice; do not show partiality to the poor or favoritism to the great; but judge your neighbor fairly.”

I take that to mean that each person, regardless of situation in life, should be judged fairly. In other words, social stature does not determine worth.

To sum up, though there are many things I don’t understand, I’m finding a lot that is fair and common sense in the Law. That said, I am very glad that the sacrifice of Christ means I don’t have to live under it…because a lot of it is very difficult. I might write more about the relation of Christ to the Law later, but I have to save some brain for Python. Here’s to more learning!

And it’s 12:07 now. Stew is officially lunch. On that note, I’m hungry…so I think I’ll wrap this up. Hope you all have a fabulous day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

