Simplify

I’m still working through parts of the Old Testament. Last night, I hit Hosea 13 again and I just couldn’t let it go. I really, really don’t like that chapter, and it makes me upset every time I read it. So Ben and I both did some research, which produced some historical context that helped it to make a little bit of sense, but some of it still didn’t compute.

I probably won’t ever completely get it.

So after all that, I did something really spiritual:

I stayed up until about 2 a.m. researching Disney stuff. Did you know there used to be pack mule rides and fake geysers in the area where Big Thunder Mountain Railroad now stands? Or that a sky ride used to go right through the Matterhorn and that there’s a tiny basketball court inside of it? (Inside of the Matterhorn, not the sky ride. I had to clarify that or be shamed in front of all my grammarian relatives.)

Well now you do. Whether or not you wanted to. Apparently, Disneyland history helps me to cope with theological quandaries.

Okay, there is something else that helps me to deal with the parts of the Old Testament and the Law that I don’t understand:

Matthew 7:12  “So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets.”

I can do that. Well, I’m working on it, anyway.

I guess my point is that, even though it is important to wrestle your way through the Bible (in my opinion, this should be a lifelong process), it’s also important to keep your eye on the big picture. Love God, love everybody else. Treat them the way you want to be treated.

It’s easy to focus on theological minutae, but the truth is, people around us are starving for love and kindness.

So while theological study is important, it can’t be the main focus.

Like I said, I’m working on it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

