You don’t have to

Would you believe I’m still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up?

Maybe you are, too. I know that when I was a kid I thought that adults knew what they were doing all the time.

Turns out they were faking it. At least, I assume they were, if they were anything like I am now. I may have a stronger sense of identity than I did when I was a kid, but I still feel like I’m making it up as I go along. Check that – I know for SURE that I’m making it up as I go along.

So today’s epiphany is this:

Relax.

You’re not ever going to feel like you’re all grown up or have it all together. That’s God’s job, and he’s got it covered.

It isn’t yours.

That doesn’t, of course, release you from the responsibility of trying to better yourself, learn more, be more. There’s merit in the trying; that’s where growth happens. (Note that I said “trying,” not “striving.” There’s a huge difference between the two…but that’s a blog for another day.)

But the truth of the matter is, God is your source. He keeps things together.

Let me be clear:

You. DON’T.

If you feel like I’m pointing the finger at you, consider that I’m the biggest offender when it comes to this area. I’m the real life “oh my goodness” girl from the movie Annie. I fret if things are messy. I fret if all my relationships aren’t exactly in top shape. I fret over my diet. I fret over the amount of sleep I do or don’t get. I fret over traffic, the state of my truck, the fact that I still have a Starbucks cup sitting in the coffee holder from WHO knows when, and the fact that I haven’t put my jeans in the dryer yet.

No area of my life is safe.

And if I don’t have it all together, every little piece, I feel inadequate.

So I say this to you and to me – you will NEVER, I repeat, NEVER have all your ducks in a row. Everything together, everything done.

God is together. And if you let him be your source, he’ll steer you right. Life is messy, and you need to stop worrying about all the little pieces that don’t seem to fit. In short, MEH.

He will teach you what to prioritize. What to carry, what to drop.

He will give you peace when all that surrounds you is chaos.

Talk to him.

Lean on him.

He’ll make your paths straight. It’s in the Bible:

Proverbs 3:5-6

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
6 in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight.

Psalms 55:22

22 Cast your cares on the LORD
and he will sustain you;
he will never let the righteous fall.

1 Peter 5:7

7 Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

So try it.

And then, hey. You might be able to relax enough to enjoy yourself, even in the midst of life’s inevitable messes.

Yeah, I’m preaching a sermon.

Checking – nope, not sorry.

Grace and peace be yours on this Thursday night.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

