Christmas at the Radleys’

Ben, Steve, and I went to my parents’ house in Grants Pass for Christmas. I am happy to report that we have accomplished nothing significant in the three days that we’ve been here (unless you count the brick-faced house I built in Minecraft. That’s right, brick. I am the clay master!).

And of course, I’ve been mulling. It’s what I do.

Thought number 1:

I feel kind of bad that we haven’t spent more of the weekend in a deep theological discussion and study of Luke Chapter 2.

Thought number 2:

Isn’t it interesting that, regardless of belief, people see Christmas as a time to spend with one’s family? Why is that?

Thought number 3:

Maybe it’s because the first Christmas was marked by the entrance of Christ into an earthly family.

The Word become flesh. God with us.

So yes, regardless of belief, all are created by God, and are therefore hardwired with the notion that Christmas, the coming of Christ, is a time to spend with one’s family. Because that’s what Jesus did. He came and spent time with us.

Spending time with loved ones is a holy act.

Really.

Think about it! Our togetherness as an act of worship to the King. What a beautiful thought.

Thought number 4:

Maybe I shouldn’t be worrying so much about Thought number 1.

Blessings to you all. I hope you had a fantastic Christmas.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

