Equal opportunity offender

Thanks for all who responded to my last post regarding Jeremiah 31. I agree, it seems to be a metaphor for either the birth of Christ or a return of God’s people to knowledge of him.

But as with so many scriptures, I feel as though this verse is multifaceted. I won’t get into that in this post, but it’s a part of some things that my mind has been churning for months…well, really, if I’m going to be completely honest about it, years.

I mentioned before how I’m reading the Bible with new eyes, and the goal is to go from start to finish. I’ve read large chunks of the Bible over my life, but the truth is, I don’t even know if I’ve read it all. EVER. Time to fix that.

As I’m reading, I’m making connections and understanding more than I ever have before. I’m also having it out with God over passages that I don’t understand, or things that don’t seem to be fair.

And I believe it’s impossible to fully appreciate and understand the word without historical and cultural context. Reading the Bible this way prevents the scriptures from being used to marginalize people – for example, keeping women from speaking in church.

Nuh-uh.

To return to the point: those churning thoughts are coalescing into a set of ideas regarding the biblical notion of submission and male/female roles.

The coming post will probably offend both men AND feminists. Note that I’m not trying to, but I just theorize that’s what’s going to happen.

A very wise pastor once said that sometimes, when it looks like there are verses that are in conflict with each other, what you must do is hold them in tension with one another and steer between them, as though you’re a boat navigating between two buoys. You can’t wreck your theological boat on one side or the other.

That’s where I’m at. I’m finding verses that seem to contradict each other, and am searching for the answers in between them. It sounds a little heretical, I know.

Stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

