I’m still here

I just needed to take a break from the daily posting to recharge my brain. I’m not sure if I’m going to continue with the daily posting indefinitely; it’s really fun, but it’s a challenge to come up with something to say every day.

Some days, I just need to stay silent. But today isn’t one of those days.

This morning, I read the passage in Genesis where Jacob wrestles with God (or an angel, depending on how you interpret it).

How perfect.

I wrestle with God all the time. About my circumstances, about the Old Testament, about why this and why that. I’m glad he’s patient.

I think sometimes we get fooled into thinking that our relationship with God must always be one of perfect stability and harmony. I don’t think that’s the way it should be at all. Growth is a process that usually involves pain. Growth also is a process that involves joy, discovery, and many other wonderful things. But it isn’t quiet and predictable.

It’s a completely wild, untamed process.

Think about all the times in your life where you went through a period of change or unrest. For me, those times brought about incredible personal growth – and they were sometimes wonderful, but also painful and jarring. Growing in our earthly relationships is like that, too. Marriage relationships, familial relationships, and friendships all grow stronger once they’ve weathered adversity.

Why should knowing God be any different?

Why should it be any less than an adventure?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

