Confessions of an introvert

I had an epiphany this week.

I really am an introvert. Which explains why teaching some days felt a little bit like putting on shoes that didn’t fit, or driving when your alignment is off. It’s not that I never enjoyed it; it’s just that I sometimes woke up feeling more like I’d like to go hide in a nice quiet office and not talk to anyone for awhile, rather than go interact with 100+ different humans all day.

It isn’t that I don’t love people – I really do.

But in any big social gathering, you’ll probably see me withdraw to a corner with a book or my phone after a few hours. Or if there’s a cat or some other domestic creature nearby, I’ll go hang out with them for awhile.

From what I’ve read, it’s all about recharging. Extroverts get their energy by being around other people, while introverts get tired out by big groups of people.

So that time dangling some string in front of the cat is a quick recharge for me. Then I can come back to the group and continue to socialize.

On that note, right now I’m sitting in a room full of people – and writing this post has me recharged and ready to hang out.

Things to ponder: Are you an introvert or an extrovert? For you introverts, what recharges you?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Confessions of an introvert

  1. For me, sitting in the park with some sunflower seeds (in the shell), a cup of Kool-Aid (grape and cherry combined) and a no-brainer book. (What I call works of fiction). If I can get thirty minutes of this, I’m ready to face the world again.

  2. Carol

    For this person who scores right in the middle between introvert and extrovert (am I an extroverted introvert, or introverted extrovert?), it is reading (which makes no demands of me). Also high on my list are time with God, my hubby, friends and fam. I do enjoy large gatherings, but I agree, kitties are nice.

Leave a Reply

