Sometimes, it’s okay to have no idea

One of my favorite prayers:

My Lord God, I have no idea where I am going. I do not see the road ahead of me. I cannot know for certain where it will end. Nor do I really know myself, and the fact that I think I am following your will does not mean that I am actually doing so.

But I believe that my desire to please you does in fact please you. And I hope that I have that desire in all that I am doing. I hope that I will never do anything apart from that desire. And I know that if I do this you will lead me by the right road though I may know nothing about it.

Therefore will I trust you always though I may seem to be lost and in the shadow of death. I will not fear, for you are ever with me, and you will never leave me to face my perils alone.

My friend Abbey and I were visiting the coast one day – I don’t remember where – when a sudden rain came up, and we ran from the beach into the shelter of a tiny church by the shore.

It was mostly empty, and there was a lone guitarist standing in the back playing a song by John Michael Talbot.

Abbey and I just sat in a pew and listened.

There are times when God’s presence is so thick in the room that you can almost reach out and touch it. This was one of those times.

I understand that there are some people who find it easier to enter his presence in a room full of people with a full worship band playing, and that’s completely okay. We’re all different. But that’s never been me.

That one afternoon in a church with the guitar playing quietly in the background was one of my favorite worship services ever. And it wasn’t even really a service.

On the way out, I found this prayer by Thomas Merton nestled among tracts and other literature. I loved its honesty. It’s given me words to pray when I’m at a loss.

Today, I hope it blesses you.

Have a beautiful Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

