Hiccup

I have the hiccups right now. As I write this.

I think I overzealously ate a piece of deli ham, because that’s when it started. Bad ham! BAD!

This wouldn’t be a huge deal, except when I get hiccups, they are nearly Melmac-ish in magnitude (50 bonus points for any children of the ’80s who get that). And then I have a hard time focusing. On things like writing. (Example: in the second sentence in this post, I originally wrote “right” instead of “write.” Take a moment and think about how horrible that is. Criminal, even. These hiccups are BAD.)

I hate hiccups with a passion. They are loud. They rattle my whole body when I have them. They are an atomic sized distraction.

Now, I know there are far, far worse things in the world than my spastic muscles, but we all have things that bother us more than others. This is that petty thing that I hate. (Okay, there are others. Like intermittent windshield wipers. I could write a whole post about that, but I’ll spare you.)

I have a point.

A lot of you are in the process of pursuing your dreams right now. And it’s very easy to allow little things to distract you from working diligently on those dreams. I’m too tired. It’s too noisy. I’m not in the right mood. I have the hiccups and I’d rather watch TLC and stuff my face because that requires less of a brain commitment.

Well, sure. There’s always going to to be something. Do it anyway.

I’m not a shining example of this, but I’m slowly learning how to keep going even when I don’t feel like it. That’s where the most progress is made in exercise, so why wouldn’t that apply to anything else? Your creative muscles need exercise, too, especially when there’s environmental resistance.

Keep going.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hiccup

  1. Can I just tell you right now how much I love reading what you write? I do! A lot šŸ™‚

  2. Not a fan of the hiccups either, Tom? Don’t blame ya.

    Thanks, Justin! šŸ™‚ I really appreciate it.

  3. Tom

    Now that the hiccups are gone, what you were talking about at the end is exactly what I’ve been reading in The Slight Edge. Awesome book, I’d recommend it to *anyone*. It’s all about making those small decisions consistently and the compounding effect it has on your life, good or bad.

Leave a Reply

