My addiction

I want to write about something very serious today.

Sandwiches.

(For you “How I Met Your Mother” fans, no, it’s not a euphemism.)

Folks, I have a problem. And today, I’m passing it on to you.

Growing up, I only invested time in learning how to cook the things that I really like to eat (chocolate chip cookies, cake, spaghetti, baked macaroni, and sandwiches. Yes, I realize that I eat like a thirteen year old. Don’t judge.). Since getting married, I’ve been trying to expand that portfolio so Ben doesn’t have to cook everything, but I can’t get away from sandwiches. I am helplessly, hopelessly addicted to them. And for good reason.

For one thing, they’re easy to make. Two pieces of bread and a filling, you have yourself a sandwich. For another thing, they’re instantly and easily customizable, and they get along so well with other foods. They pair with soup. They complement salad. Grilled or cold, they’re perfect for either a winter’s day or a hot summer afternoon. Essentially, the perfect food.

Swiss cheese, wine cured salami, peppered turkey, pickles, tomato. Nice job, Steve.

And I have a flair for sandwiches. It’s true, and genetic. My brother, also a champion sandwich artisan, once created a sandwich that was so lovely it enjoyed a brief modeling career.

So today, I share with you 4 of my favorite sandwich combos.

You’re welcome.

1. The smoked gouda tuna melt.

I have to credit my cousin Kristen for this one. As with any good recipe, ingredients are important. Here’s what you need:

  • smoked gouda (Costco)
  • sourdough
  • tuna
  • avocado
  • tomato

Combine, grill. I recommend adding the avocado post-grilling.

So, so good!

2. Turkey panini on olive bread.

  • olive bread (the best is Safeway’s in house baked $1.99 loaf)
  • Gourmet Garden Basil (you’ll find it in the veggie section)
  • pepper jack cheese
  • mesquite thin sliced deli turkey (also Safeway)
  • dijon mustard
  • Gallo salami (I regularly buy reduced fat, and it tastes awesome – just less greasy)

Thin slice the olive bread (if it’s too thick, it’s hard to close the panini press). Each individual piece isn’t very big, so I cut four thin sliced pieces and make two little sandwiches per person. For each sandwich, spread the basil on one slice and the dijon mustard on the other. Combine with the rest of the ingredients and throw on the panini grill. What’s that? You don’t have a panini grill? Problem solved.

Serve with baked chips and this fabulous lemon-gin cocktail (I substitute Cupcake brand moscato for the champagne – wonderfully sweet!).

3. Variation on the above – grill chicken and substitute for the turkey. It’s more hearty.

4. turkey, ranch, swiss, and avocado – actually, this one I just kind of ripped off from Quizno’s. The difference? Mine is cheaper. Eaten on any kind of bread, this combo is a keeper.

Okay, now you share – fave sandwiches?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

