Reading is dangerous.

I’ve been reading again.

One of the problems with reading is that your mindsets get challenged. Which I really hate, because it’s so much easier to just sit in your little bubble and think what you think without having to change what you think. HGTV lets me do this, which is probably why I watch it. Pretty house makeovers, paint swatches, little commitment to thoughts more than an inch deep. Anyway, here’s what I’ve read/finished lately:

“Orthodoxy” by G.K. Chesterton, which is a spiritual autobiography, the story of his journey from agnosticism to orthodox Christianity. Or simply put, the story of how he looked at everything he believed about the world and slowly came to realize that Christianity was what he believed. This book hurt my head in ways I can’t describe, and I didn’t understand a good third of it. A dangerous, painful, and even fun read.

“A Girl Named Zippy,” an account of small town life in a tiny town in Indiana. Hilarious and heartfelt. Made me laugh and cry…and think. Dangit.

“My Man Jeeves” by P.G. Wodehouse. Actually, this one didn’t make me think at all. Thank goodness.

“Every Living Thing” by James Herriot, his last book about being a vet in the English countryside. That description alone would’ve put most of my students to sleep, and I wasn’t all that desperately interested either, until I started to read it, and then I fell in love.

Finally, I just finished “Quitter” by Jon Acuff, which is basically a book that calls you on the carpet for not working diligently on your dreams, or making excuses not to work diligently on your dreams, or watching hours of HGTV when you could be working diligently on your dreams.

If you know me and I know that you know that I know that you aren’t working your dream job right now, expect me to be shoving this book in your face soon.

So get crackin’.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Reading is dangerous.

  1. As I added a bowl to my sink-full of dishes just now, I was thinking, “I am such.a.lazy.butt.” I did get up earlier than usual today…had the intention of working out…actually put 30-Day Shred in the DVD player…and then got distracted…ordered an amazing deal on Method laundry products…ordered personalized “thank you” cards for Aaron’s birthday from a Groupon that I had (that was SUPPOSED to be our “we moved” announcements…but I was never able to get a good family shot)….and I’ve resigned to watching Dora with Aaron and just ate 3 of the donuts I made this morning…and 2 chocolate peanut butter cookie dough balls…with my coffee. I haven’t taken a shower in 2 days and my head is itchy…”you know it’s time to shower when…” I’m feeling like I’m in such a funk right now. Slothy. Then, there’s guilt because my hubby is off working and being productive…and I’m sitting here on my *butt.* (Was going to say something else, but this IS Sarah(not)Radley’s blog and such words are probably outlawed. πŸ˜‰

  2. Oh my goodness, I feel exactly the same way. I keep telling Ben that I feel like a useless member of society, and he always contradicts me because he’s way too nice. He wants me to find a job I’d actually like, but, um, nobody calls me about interviews no matter what I apply to. So I’ve been working on writing and beating my body back into shape.

    So yeah, most days I feel kind of like a loser, but I’m hanging in there. Isn’t it sort of like being in limbo or purgatory?

    Anyway, yes, order his book. It’s cheaper on Amazon and qualifies toward the super saver shipping. It really motivated me to start working on freelance.

Leave a Reply

