Interlaken – coming soon…in the meantime, job hunting is difficult

I mean, I chose this, sure. I wanted to do something different. So don’t get me wrong – I’m not complaining.

Now, if I had been working a normal job that wasn’t dependent on a static September through June commitment, I could’ve stayed until I found something else. But since sticking around would’ve meant essentially committing to another year at the same job, away I went. Well, strike that – I could’ve left in the middle of a school year, but that would’ve made me a jerk.

The short term plan hasn’t changed: do some temping to put some $ in the bank account while I look for something more permanent. But I keep asking myself – what do I want to do when I grow up?

I’ve come up with a few things:

1. be a nice person
2. cook chicken without freaking out about touching raw meat
3. write a novel
4. be a cool wife, sister, daughter, and someday mom
5. show Jesus to people
6. smell pretty good
7. run a flat half marathon. flat. did I mention flat?

I haven’t found a job description with these qualifications yet, but there’s a lot of stuff listed on Indeed.com. I’ll find it.

In the meantime, I’m working on fleshing out my resume as a human being: I usually smell pretty good (although my husband recently confessed to me his relief that I’m no longer consuming large amounts of garlic hummus), sometimes show Jesus to people, and am going to do National Novel Writing Month (shoot, public announcement means I actually have to do it, don’t I? ).

I still don’t like touching raw chicken, but I’m a pretty devoted carnivore, so I’ll get there.

What do YOU want to be when you grow up?

 

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Interlaken – coming soon…in the meantime, job hunting is difficult

  1. I’d like to be a nurse…but apparently the Oregon State Police has 1 dude working 4 hours/week or something (I don’t know this for a fact…that’s just my assumption given the amount of time it’s taking for them to process my background check)…so, I don’t have my license yet and can, therefore, not work.

    Hippie Chick was flat. It’d be a good one to run. I think we signed up in October. It’s another one of those where you have to sign up as soon as it opens cuz it fills up the same day. I’d stay away from Helvetia. A friend of mine said the Portland MARATHON was easier than doing the Helvetia 1/2. NOT Flat.

    Good luck figuring out what you want to be!! πŸ™‚

  2. Hey, thanks. I’ll think about Hippie Chick – looking at Sauvie (sp?) Island flat half. Heard that one’s awesome. And flat…because that’s the most important thing.

    You know, I should come up and visit you, seeing as I’m unemployed. I’d like to see your new digs and hang out!

  3. Elin

    How about writing a novel, for starters? πŸ™‚

  4. Ooh, I decided I was going to do NaNoWriMo this year too! Granted, I doubt I will get to 50,000 words because I like to ruthlessly cut out bad writing, but really I am just hoping to get my muse going again. Good luck on knowing what you want to be when you grow up. i have a plan for the next ~6 years and then heck if I know.

  5. Yeah, I’m addicted to editing, too. So I’ll just have to get over that if I’m going to do this. But hey, it’s a good way to force myself to do some writing, no matter how bad.

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

